Helpful agents are standing by: (713) 388-6900
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

What To Do During A First Time DWI Conviction In Texas

A DWI charge results in an immediate suspension of one’s driver’s license. The length of the suspension is dependent on the level of intoxication and the other circumstances contributing to the arrest. This immediate suspension is in disregard of whether you are a first time or a repeat offender. Intoxication under the Texas DWI law has two distinct definitions. These are:

•             Means a person whose Blood Alcohol Concentration is at 0.08 percent or higher.

•             A person who has lost their normal mental faculties as a consequence of ingestion of drugs, alcohol or controlled substance. It also includes a combination of two or more of the aforementioned drugs or another drug that one might have ingested.

These two have to be determined by an officer at the time of an arrest. The arresting officer has to collect evidence to ascertain irrefutably that the person is intoxicated. The officer collects blood and breath samples. If none of these tests were performed prior to the arrest, the state may argue in court that the officer was unable to perform the test since the accused had less than normal control of their faculties. The police officers vehicles have portable cameras mounted on the dashboard to record any arrests made. This audio and visual evidence may be played in front of the court for the judge of jury to decide whether your behavior in the recording can be classified as intoxicated or not.

Once your court case is completed and you are found guilty of DWI, you will first be placed in probation and an additional jail term will be attached to it. DWI Laws in Texas dictates that first time offenders will receive probation of up to two years on conviction. A fine is also attached to all this and is different from state to state. For the state of Texas the fines may reach a maximum of $1,000. In addition to this, you will have to pay your DWI attorney plus the probation fees and surcharges. Once done with the court, you will begin the long process of paying for your transgressions and the changes that it brings to your life.  The first change is that your auto insurance premiums will dramatically increase. The next thing is that you will be required to obtain a SR-22 insurance cover so that you can be able to go on driving during your probation. This cover is particularly expensive so from this point on, your insurance fees will seriously injure your budget.

Fortunately, we are here to help. Even if you are required to have SR-22 as a result of your DW, help is at hand to guide you to the best suitable coverage at lower rates. The key to that is to compare different insurance providers in Texas all at one time.  By taking just a few minutes to enter your zip above, you can quickly compare Texas cheap insurance companies online. Get the right policy and rate that meets your needs and save some hard earned dollars in the process.