Helpful agents are standing by: (713) 388-6900
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Auto Insurance Laws In Texas: What To Do In Case Of An Accident

A few guidelines and tips are provided in the Texas Drivers Handbook on what is expected of you in the event that you are involved in a vehicle accident in Texas. These instructions are derived from the Texas Transportation Code which is a compilation of statutes for Texas. The Texas law on car insurance is regulated by the Texas Department of Insurance. Under this law, all drivers in the state must have proof of financial responsibility if they drive or even own a car in Texas.

The most basic financial responsibility as required by Texas law on car insurance is $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident and $25,000 for damage to property. Other ways to show financial responsibility include filing for a surety bond which is proof enough that you can pay for damages that may be caused in a car accident. This minimum liability coverage will pay for the other driver’s expenses for injury or damage and hence, the need to extend the coverage for yourself too.

In the event of an accident

You are required to stop at the scene of the accident even if it is just car damage. You may also move your vehicle to an area of investigation if it is in a moving state to resume flow of traffic. You may also extend assistance to any injured person or persons and call 911. Exchange your Texas auto insurance company or agent information and also driver’s license information with the other driver. Accidents that render the vehicle or vehicles not drivable or cause injury or death of an individual or individuals must be reported to the police at once. You may also call local officers if in a municipality, the sheriff’s department if outside a municipality or call the local department of public safety.

After the car accident

Get names and contact information of witnesses to the accident. This is crucial information to your Texas car insurance company. Then, contact your insurance company and share the information you have gathered at the scene. If there is an accident report, get a copy and give it to your insurer. It is important to note that it is against the Texas law on insurance to give out falsified information about an accident to the auto insurance company.

The Texas Department of Insurance is the regulator of the auto insurance rates in Texas and will accept complaints from you in relation to your auto insurer. If your insurer increases your rates after an accident, you should report them since only the TDI is the regulator of such rates. Also, the company cannot refuse renewal of your policy after the accident if you were not at fault. It is imperative that you do some serious research of the Texas car insurance company before doing business with them to find out their track record. To find some reliable auto insurance companies in Texas and their rates, you may enter your zip in the space provided on this page and get yourself reliable and cheap Texas auto insurance.