Helpful agents are standing by: (713) 388-6900
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Auto Insurance In Texas: DUI and DWI Explained

DWI and DUI can cause serious consequences in your personal life and to your auto insurance policy as well. However, a lot of people are still not sure about the exact differences between DWI and DUI. In this article, we will delve into the definitions and differences between Texas DUI and DWI.

AutoInsuranceinTexasDriving under the Influence of drugs or alcohol or DUI is by law classified as class “C” misdemeanor. On the other hand, alcohol and drug-related traffic offenses commonly known as DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), is a Class B misdemeanor. DWI is usually prosecuted as a criminal offense that carries administrative penalties. If you are charged for DUI in Texas as a first time offender, you will not be sent to jail. However, you will be fined a maximum of $500. Any subsequent offenses will result in a significant amount of jail time.  Albeit no jail time for first time offenders, one may have to go through probation, enlist in alcohol awareness programs and community service. However, when alcohol concentration in one’s blood, breath or urine is 0.08 percent or higher, the person by law is considered as intoxicated. If such a person is operating any kind of vehicle, vessel or even just water skiing while in a public place, he or she will be considered as Driving While Intoxicated or DWI. A DWI charge carries a minimum jail time of 72 hours. In the event that there is one or more open containers with alcohol in that person’s possession, the minimum jail time the individual faces is 6 days.

In addition to jail time, the individual will face further consequences if convicted of DWI in a court of law. A person who is convicted for the first time will face the suspension of his or her drivers’ license for a period of 90 days up to a year. The individual may also be required to complete an educational program specially intended for driving while intoxicated drivers. When a person is sentenced to such a program but fails to complete it, he or she will face harsher consequences. When a person gets convicted for DWI in Texas the second time, they will have their driver’s license suspended for another 18 months in addition to a longer jail term.

After knowing the exact definitions and the differences between DWI and DUI, one comes to the conclusion that they are both viewed as high risk driving. They both result in one having to pay extra fees for auto insurance especially if you have to get an SR-22 cover. For everyone out there this website is here to help. Take just a moment of your valuable time to enter your zip above and you can quickly compare numerous insurance company terms and conditions in regard to DWIs and DUIs. You can find any auto insurance companies in Texas.