Helpful agents are standing by: (713) 388-6900
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

6 commonly asked questions about auto insurance in Texas

Most commonly asked questions about auto insurance in Texas are:

1.         Is it necessary to buy auto insurance in Texas?

2.         Who pays the damages of my car?

3.         What are the other options of coverage?

4.         In case of no insurance, what is the penalty?

5.         Is there any way to get license without insurance policy?

6.         Do I need to show the proof of my insurance and when?

These are the commonly and frequently asked questions by drivers. Everyone wants to get his queries answered. There is no way to get answer of all the questions at one time. Let us answer few of them in detail to clear the ambiguities.

Is it necessary to buy auto insurance in Texas?

According to the law of Texas, it is necessary for the drivers to have auto insurance policy. When your car is hit in an accident, you are likely to receive damages for which you pay monthly premium. In this way, every driver is liable to receive the damages of his car in an accident. The bodily damage is $30,000 for one and $60,000 for all the persons injured in an accident. If some property is damaged then the amount is $25,000. It is often labeled as “30/60/25 coverage.”

Who pays the damages of my car?

Insurance companies pay for the damages that you cause and other cause on the road. In case your car is hit in an accident, the other driver’s car policy will pay you. If you are the cause of an accident, then your insurance policy will pay the other’s car policy. You have to pay for the insurance policy in the form of premium. This premium is actually the expense of your car damage. There is a limit of the car’s insurance policy but insurance companies give you some extra losses if the damage exceeds the car policy limit.

What are the other options of coverage?

You can also the coverage of “Personal Injury Protection,” in your insurance policy. It is known as PIP. PIP helps us in getting the medical cost of injuries of ours and others passengers in the same car. UIM covers the cost of all the damages that has taken place because your car is hit by an uninsured car. It also aids you in getting the expense of damages that has taken place because of accidents in hit-and-run scenario. You need to report on the spot to the police if the other car’s driver ran away by hitting you.

In case of no insurance, what is the penalty?

It is law in Texas to keep the car insurance policy. If your car is not insured then it is considered a crime in Texas. Although, many states do not restrict the drivers to buy insurance but in Texas, if your car is caught without auto insurance then you can be highly penalized. Law enforcement officers ask you to show the evidence of car insurance. When you purchase auto insurance, an ID card is issued to you showing that you have the insurance.  This insurance card is checked at every traffic stop signal. This card holds the information related to insurance scheme you are having. It also includes the starting and expiry dates of insurance with the coverage plan. If you are unable to present the proof of it on the spot then you can be given a ticket of worth $150 to $300 for the first time. The amount can be increased if you do it again and again. If again you are caught with no insurance, you can be fined up to $1000 and your car can be impounded.

Furthermore, if you do not have auto insurance and you caused an accident then you are liable to pay for the damages of the other person’s car. You have to pay for car damages and medical expenses incurred in an accident. The amount of money can be thousands of dollars, depending on the seriousness of accidents. If you are not able to pay the damages, than you can be put behind the bars or taken to court.

Is there any way to get license without insurance policy?

It is impossible if you are driving in Texas that you can have the car registration without insurance policy. You have to show the evidence of your insurance to the Texas DMV for car registration. They will verify it and then your car will be registered. In Texas, it is important to keep the proof of your insurance and driving license with you all the time. You can be checked at any time on any signal. In case, you don’t have these documents, you can be heavily fined. Financial problems are at every step in Texas.

Do I need to show the proof of my insurance and when?

You have to show the proof at any time. It is advisable to keep the insurance card with you all the time. At any traffic signal, traffic can stop you to see the insurance card. You can be halt at any traffic signal and law enforcement officer can ask you to show the proof of car insurance. In case you are unable to provide these documents, you are going to be fined and your car can be impounded as well.

For further information, enter your ZIP code in the above box and compare rates of auto insurance in Texas.